Austin Elementary will provide a positive, safe, and secure environment that will empower students to learn while building self-esteem. Students will be afforded the opportunity to experience success and mutual respect which will prepare them to be life-long learners. The community will cooperate to produce responsible individuals who are able to adapt to an ever-changing society.
Stephen F. Austin Elementary (named after the “Father of Texas”) was originally built in 1944 on the current site, however due to WWII being fought materials were hard to come by and the building was constructed of second hand wood and third grade drywall. The building was only suppose to last 3-5 years, but held together until 1953 when it was condemned because of major structural problems. The superintendent at the time, Mr. H. H. Chambers, made the decision to close the school and combine our students with the students at Houston. The classes consisted of 2 sessions each day (morning or afternoon). In 1954 Austin Elementary opened again with ten classrooms including Mr. Whitt as principal.