School Board Candidate and Election Information

  • Grand Prairie ISD Board Elections

    Grand Prairie ISD has a new election system. Five of the Trustee positions will be elected from single-member districts, and the other two positions will be elected “at-large.” Map of the single-member district boundaries.

    Candidates for single-member district positions must reside within the boundaries of that district. Candidates for at-large positions may live anywhere within the boundaries of the Grand Prairie ISD.

    Duties of the Board

    Operating within the legal parameters of the state and federal constitutions, statutes, courts, and administrative agencies, the Board is charged with the responsibility of providing the finest educational program possible for the students in the District. School trustees make all final decisions regarding the school district's priorities, policies, personnel, textbooks, expenditures, and growth management. Trustees adopt a budget that is necessary to maintain and operate the schools, levy taxes to support the budget and submit bond issues to the citizens of the District to finance construction projects.

    Board Policy BBA Legal

    To be eligible for, or elected or appointed to, the office of Trustee, a person must meet the eligibility requirements. Check for Eligibility Requirements.

    What Positions are up for Election?

    Members of the Grand Prairie ISD Board of Trustees serve a three-year term.

    May 2020: Single Member District 2, At-Large Place 3, Single Member District 4

    May 2021: Single Member District 1, Single Member District 5

    May 2022: Single Member District 6, At-Large Place 7

    School Board Members and Term Expiration

    Terry Brooks - Single Member District 1 - May 2021

    Chester McCrary - Single Member District 2 - May 2020

    Gloria Carrillo - Place 3 At Large - May 2020

    D. Aaron King - Single Member District 4 - May 2020

    David Espinosa - Single Member District 5 - May 2021

    Emily Liles - Single Member District 6 - May 2022

    Burke Hall - Place 7 At Large - May 2022

    Election Day - Saturday, May 2, 2020

     Election will be held at various campuses in Grand Prairie, TX.

    Applications for a Place on the Ballot

    Grand Prairie residents interested in running for School Board may pick up a candidate application packet from the Election Coordinator’s office beginning Monday, January 6, 2020.

    Applications for a place on the Grand Prairie Independent School District Regular Election ballot may be filed beginning Wednesday, January 15, 2020 and ending at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 14, 2020. If interested, please drop off your completed packet in the Election Coordinator’s office during this time period.

    Contact Information

    Grand Prairie ISD Education Center
    2602 South Belt Line Rd.
    Grand Prairie, TX 75052

    2020 Election Notices (Legal Requirements)

    Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot

    Related Links



  • Education Center
Showing results for "Professor named Smith at Elementary School"