Return to Headlines

TASB Winners Announced for Student Video Contest

Winners Announced for Student Video Contest

(Austin) ― Six schools have been selected as winners of the student video contest sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB). These videos illustrate the true value of public education and emphasize the many positive aspects of our state’s public schools.

The contest was open to all Texas elementary and secondary public school students, and winners were selected in three categories: elementary school, middle/junior high school, and high school. First-place prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the following school districts later this spring for use in the students’ classroom or campus: 

Royse City High School , Royse City ISD

Memorial Middle School, Edinburg CISD

Zavala Elementary School, Harlingen CISD

A second-place prize of $2,500 will be presented to the following: 

Dubiski Career High School, Grand Prairie ISD

League City Intermediate School, Clear Creek ISD

Whitt Fine Arts Academy, Grand Prairie ISD

Whitt Fine Arts Academy with Check from TASB for Student Video Contest    Dubiski student, media teacher and principal with check for TASB student video contest

“We are delighted that students from all over the state creatively demonstrated their enthusiasm for the great things going on in their public schools. Through our students’ voices, the videos do an excellent job of explaining why local schools deserve the support of their communities and appropriate funding from the state,” said Charles R. Stafford, TASB president. “Our students help spotlight the many ways Texas public schools excel and underscore why all Texans should be proud to stand up for their public schools,” he said.

In addition, a People’s Choice in each of the three categories was chosen based on the videos most viewed by visitors to TASB’s Website. These winners receive no monetary prize but may be included among the videos displayed statewide at various TASB events:

San Augustine High School, San Augustine ISD

Charles Baxter Junior High School, Everman ISD

Frances E. Norton Elementary School, Allen ISD

Students were asked to tell what makes their school exceptional, how the school has earned community support, how their school is making a difference in students’ lives and future success, and what makes Texas public schools the best choice. All entries can be viewed on the TASB Website.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million public school students.

TASB Winners Announced for Student Video Contest - Press Release (PDF)